Board of Trustees

Disabled Students Quality Assurance Group (DSA-QAG) is governed by a Board of Trustees. These trustees are unremunerated, and have no vested interest in the quality assurance process.
The National Union of Students (NUS) has two seats on the board, to ensure that disabled students always have a voice. The other trustees are independent, and are involved because of their interest and expertise. The current board members are:

Chair: Rebecca Harrison, for more information please see our board and associates members page.

Trustees: David Malcolm (Deputy Chair) (NUS), Rachel O'Brien (NUS), Richard Currie (Independent), Ronald Barham (Independent) and Megan Dunn (Independent) for more information please see our board and associates members page.


DSA-QAG from our base in Glasgow, employ a number of staff, who carry out the work of DSA-QAG, auditing assessment centres, Assistive Technology Service (ATS) providers, Non-Medical Help (NMH) providers and developing new projects to help meet our aims as an organisation.

CEO: Karen Docherty

Operations Manager: Jim Kersse

Compliance Officer - Internal/External: Stuart Moir

Senior Compliance Officer - NMH: John Scolaro

Compliance Officer - Internal/External: Gavin Lawlor

Compliance Officer - External: Keith Miller

Compliance Officer - External: Graeme Jamieson

Find more information on our staff.

Associate Members

The Department for Education (DfE), Welsh Government, Student Loans Company (SLC) and National Health Service (NHS) also nominate one observer each to the Board. Associate members also include representatives from key stakeholders, National Network of Assessment Centres (NNAC), Independent Assessment Centres (IAC), ATS providers and Association of NMH providers, who each nominate observers to the Board.